andy_caulfield

I know this question has been asked before, here and elsewhere, but

I'm still unsure of the answer for me.

I'm a graduate student and have gotten pretty serious about

photography over the last year. I particulary enjoy nature

photography and have invested in some high quality canon lenses such

as the 400 5.6L and the 100 2.8 macro.

I currently only shoot print film, but I would like to eventually

start publishing my images, so I am considering moving to slide film.

I also have read extensively how slide film has a richer color

pallette, and will give me feedback on my exposure and metering

skills (which is impossible to figure out with print film).

As I mentioned, I am a student with limited funds, and have already

invested alot of money in my lenses, so I am trying to determine if

buying a projector or light table and loupe is a wise decision right

now. I have also read that projecting slides will fade the image

over time, so a light table seems like the better option, but it

obviously is less convenient when I want to show the images to

friends.

I would appreciate any thoughts.

Switch to slides if you want to publish and learn from your mistakes. Evaluate them with a color-corrected lightbox of the proper brightness (small ones sell for well under $100). You can get by without an expensive loupe IF you use something like a 10x jeweler's loupe to evaluate sharpness (a 50mm lens can be used for less magnification).

As you mention, your biggest problem will be sharing your work. Perhaps as a graduate student you can get occasional access to a slide scanner or projector. If not, you can either print your very best slides or just sit your friends in front of the lightbox.