slave flash placement for portraits

amber1

I am very new to photography, and I am happy to say that I have

learned a great deal since "discovering" photo.net. I have a small

office space that I am using as a miniature studio (about 10'x17').

At first I was using hot lights for my main lighting, and although

they worked OK, they made the room very hot and uncomfortable. Since

I mainly photograph children and babies this of course was not

working. I have recently replaced those lights with 3 slave flash

units (guide no 90). They are the lightbulb type and I screwed them

into metal cone reflectors. I also use an on camera flash (guide no

130) bounced from the white ceiling to trigger them. Per a

photographer-friends request I covered the cones with difuser

material. My question is........(did ya think I'd ever get here???)

Where should I place the strobes? With the hot lights I could see the

effect that I was getting. I bought a flash meter to determine

exposure but Im not sure where to place the lights to flatter the

subject the most. High or low? One behind as a backlight? Right now I

have 2 of the flashes at 7' high on either side of the camera and one

behind the subject at 8'. and of course the on camera flash bounced.

Subject is usually 2'-4' from floor. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Sorry so long to explain!<div>007qmU-17315884.JPG.61f2133f22457c9b2322d7d6042a8c8d.JPG</div>

Amber- As you are learning, it is very hard to determine just exactly what your flashes are doing if they don't have modeling lights. I would recommend that you soften your light with umbrellas or some other large diffusion surface, but again, without modeling lights that's hard to track.

You don't specify what type of camera you are shooting with. If it is a digital, then you have the possibility of checking your lighting with the on-camera display, but this can take some time.