with the paper. Apparently during a printing and binding process it was found

that the paper was yellowing after the pages were stacked for a period. The

yellowing occurred overall in strips and around edges. After research the

conservator gave the following information:

* The Optical brightening agents are causing this effect

* The OBA's alter the reflection of ultraviolet light in such

a way as to make the paper appear cooler white

* The yellowing occurs in paper which is stacked or contained

(apparently it has to do with out-gassing)

* exposure to light and air will get rid of the yellowing

I thought this info should be given to photographers.

Thank you for the update,wow, I'm disappointed in this, I have some of this very type of paper in a sample pack that I plan to use. I am an amateur photographer with an Epson R3800 pigment printer. I may give more thought to ordering any future papers to be those with no OBAs, which probably will be more expensive(than those with OBAs).

Thank you, Debra

So I guess the best thing to do is simply display the work! Good info to know tho, and another observation that Wilhelm apparently doesn't cover? I wonder what the long term consequences are?

On another note, I remember quite a while back a Photo Techniques article on silvering out of B&W prints on display. That was interesting.

I'm guessing that Wilhlem's protocol doesn't include stacking or sealing sheets together relatively air-tight. They use tests that basically approximate time and exposure. While these tests are very useful, they don't tell the whole or complete story. Age testing in a chamber at 100 degrees is not the same as actual "time" and long term exposure is different than short time, it's a best guess approximation.

If prints are allowed to breath, to some extant, I doubt that one will have to deal with the problem. But if one is printing for binding, or sealing matted shots in plastic than it's a factor.

Dear Bruce,

More info, please?