Sigma vs Tamron Telephoto Lens Quality

I'm considering buying a Sigma 150-600mm Contemporary lens, and have also looked at the Tamron SP 150-600mm lens. The specifications seem to be similar, the major difference in aperture ranges which is not an issue for me. Does anyone here have some hands-on experience with either or both of these lenses, and an opinion on their overall quality? The price of the Tamron is about $170 less than the Sigma (at B&H), but I've had some bad experience with Tamron lenses in the past and I'm not sure if the savings is worth it.

Thanks for any help,

William

I'm assuming that your primary purpose for one of these lenses is to shoot at 600mm. Based on that, if you're talking about the first generation (G1) of the Tamron lens, whihch came out in 2013, then the SIgma wins hands down. The SIgma is much sharper at 600mm and is compatible with the SIgma Dock which allows you to fine tune focus with a specific body.

The Tamron G2 (2016) is better than the G1 but at a higher cost ($1300), and is probably on par with the less expensive Sigma Contemporary at 600mm.. In fact, if you are considering the G2 version and you shoot Nikon, the Nikon 200-500mm is a much better choice for about $100 more, although it only goes up to 500mm

sorry no experience, but I did hold the sigma and the Nikon 200-500 at BHPhoto the other day. Thesalesman had personal experience with both--the tamron didn't come up--and much prefered the sigma for IQ and price and weight over the Nikon. He even preferred it, the contemp., over the sport version--S heavier with minimal IQ improvement and many more $$$. He had taken the sigma on safari and rec'd it highly. All anecdotal, i know, but I am looking at that mix also and came away thinking the sigma was the one, at least vs the Nikon. YMMV. Hell, my mileage may vary when I look at them tomorrow.