Sigma Vs 550ex Vs 580ex. A personal Saga. (Beware long post!)

I?m a wedding/event photographer shooting Canon. I grew up with the

AE-1 and A1 but graduated to AF Canon as, to be honest, my MF just

isn?t good enough for wedding photography.

I graduated to digital recently, running it alongside film with a

D60. I sold it pretty soon after I had bought it, the AF was

inexcusably slow and the flash exposure sucked. A couple of months

ago I sold it and traded up to a 10D. The 20D came out that week and

the money I saved on the newer body helped to facilitate a 17-40L and

70-200L to go with it. I have had 30X20" prints made from the 10D

that equaled my Mamiya 645 for quality.

I used to shoot weddings and events with 3 sigma ef-500 super

flashes, one on camera and two on stands using wireless ETTL.

Portrait shooting was done using the built in light slaves and

metering the output as my 2 EOS 50 (Elan II) cameras could not do

wireless ETTL with ratios. I used to manage a photo lab, I know what

good negs look like, and the flash exposures using that setup were

spot on when used with moderate FEC for white dresses etc.

With the 10D and the sigmas I realized that I had to work out a

system to obtain good exposures. Before I start, in a post below when

I complained about the inadequacy of Canon's ETTL, I was recommended

to use CF4-1, manually select focusing points to ensure it was on the

faces, trade up the 20D and change my sigmas for canon flashes.

As far as the first two suggestions are concerned, although, yes it

would give me more reliable exposure, I strongly object to having to

change to a completely different style of shooting, and especially

one which I could not cope with when faced with very fast moving

situations which need split second focusing and shooting, such as PJ

wedding photography, just to cope with Canon's inadequate flash

system.

I worked out a system using the sigma flash, that a permanent FEC of -