Sigma lenses, are they worth it.

<p>Can anyone please give me any opinions on shooting with Sigma Lenses. Are they worth their price? I shoot with a Canon 400D, mostly people and some portraits. I am not a professional photographer, but would still like good quality photos when I take them/order them. I just cannot afford Canon with their prices. But I don't want to sacrafice good quality images that I get from my 50mm 1.8 So I was wondering if anyone shoots with a Sigma, and if so, how is the quality of the images, vs. a Canon lens. I just want a good prime lens for now, and would like to also step up to a good wide angle/zoom if I can afford it because I do shoot outdoors sometimes.<br>

I just don't know anyone who personally uses Sigma lenses, but I just can't afford Canons high priced lenses. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks all.....</p>

<p>Sigma makes some really nice lenses. They are getting as expensive as Nikkor counterparts, and good quality Nikon lenses are consistently similar in appearance, across the line. With digital, you have the option of modifying shots to make them sharper, more contrasty, or adjust saturation.</p>

<p>Both Sigma and Canon make inexpensive consumer lenses, and both make some very nice pro lenses. It's rather hard to do an apples-to-apples comparison of exact lenses because they're all over the map in terms of the features and budget each manufacturer has in mind for a given market segment. <br /><br />There are Canon and Nikon lenses I'd absolutely prefer over their Sigma counterparts, and there are some Sigma lenses I'd take (regardless of price) over their C & N counterparts. So to really answer your question, it would help to know what sort of shooting you're talking about, and what sort of budget.</p>