Side by side of 'L' versus non-L?

jto1

<p>I'm not a pro, so dropping $1,000+ on a lens like the Canon 70-200mm f/4 L is a big stretch for me.</p>

<p>That being said, like most photographers, I want to get the best technical image quality that I can out of my rig and my photographic efforts. With Canon, that means moving to 'L' lenses eventually. </p>

<p>I currently shoot a Canon 7D with a Tamron 17-35, Canon 28-135, and Canon 70-300.</p>

<p>Even when I shot these lenses with my older 10D and 30D, I never felt that they were as sharp as I would like them to be, which is to be expected since they're mid quality lenses. For example, the 70-300 is REALLY soft at the long end. Certainly on the 7D I've seen this even more, as the 7D easily exposes the flaws in these lenses.</p>

<p>They've been to Tamron and Canon for calibration and only one of the two Canon lenses came back from Canon with an AF tweak done to it. I've run the AF micro adjust procedure at this link:</p>

<p><a href="http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/article_pages/cameras/1ds3_af_micoadjustment.html">http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/article_pages/cameras/1ds3_af_micoadjustment.html</a></p>

<p>...and the lenses are supposedly spot on with regard to auto focus, so this is not the issue. I can't manually focus these lenses better than the AF is doing.</p>

<p>I would like to upgrade these lenses to higher quality Canon 'L' glass some day soon, but I would really like to first be able to see the incremental quality improvement that I would get from a costly move like this.</p>

<p>My question: Does anyone know of a web site that has done comprehensive side-by-side comparisons of something like the Canon 70-300 versus the 70-200 f/4 L at a given focal length so I can see, for example, what the 70-300 does at 200mm versus the 70-200 at 200mm? Etc, etc, etc...</p>

<p>Just curious, as I have not been able to track down a site like this yet.</p>

<p>Thanks,<br>

John</p>