Shutter Won't Operate on my Mamiya 7 II

craig_carry

Hello,

I am new to photo.net and have recently bought a mamiya 7 ii camera and 80mm lens in used condition (3 rolls of

film were passed through it by its original owner).

The camera also came with rolls of 220 film. I didn't realise that there was already a roll of 220 film in the film

chamber and since I opened the back of the camera I haven't been able to wind the film advance lever (the exposure

counter window reads 'S' all the time).

At the moment I cannot wind the lever to cock the shutter (there is no pressure at all) so I cannot press the shutter

to wind on the film at all. (The light shield curtain is in the OPEN position).

The red warning lamp in the corner of the viewfinder flashes when I press the shutter signalling that it is impossible to

press the shutter button.

Should I attempt to remove the film (even though the film has not wound on)?

Perhaps the battery needs replacement?

I am hoping there is a straighforward solution;

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Craig.

On my Mamiya 6 there is a very small round opening on the side of the upper handle, within which there is a button. You

can push this in using the point of a pencil or ball point, and it apparently restarts the shutter tensioning (or some such

winding function). You only lose one frame.

Try that if the Mamiya 7 has the same device. It may work. Or maybe change batteries (you may still have to press the small button after

that).

Is the dark slide open? That is the first area to trip up. After that, is the multiple exposure lever pushed towards the right?

That will also disengage the winder. If the red light is lit up, you should have batteries (unless it is blinking quickly). In any

case, I have never opened it up mid-roll, so I am not sure exactly what happens, but you would probably be best served to