Shutter lubrication

I've been gathering information on camera repair for the past 1-2 years and

performed minor surgery on old beaters (Petri Color 35, Rollei 35, Olympus 35RD)

without excessive concern. (Moderator: yes, the C220 is post-1970, but a) it has

ancestors well before that; b) I believe this forum is my best chance to have

useful answers). But today the shutters on all three lenses (55/80/135) of my

Mamiya C220 stuck (more or less) during a picture taking session; the negative

is now hanging in my darkroom as evidence of the shutter failures. That is one

of my two prime cameras, and I'd like to benefit from the expertise of the PN

people. I had all three lenses CLA'd by a professional a few years back; I since

then heard negative comments about the guy. So I'd rather do it myself this time

around. But do what? Some say NyOil, some say separated WD-40, some say run the

shutter dry (would not do that after watching the residue of metal powder when I

cleaned the Petri shutter). I do understand that the shutter has to be cleaned

to start with, using lighter fluid (Ronsonol in the US) or isopropanol. I do

understand that the shutter blades MUST be dry. So my question concerns the

actuating mechanism. I tried to do my homework, browsing through:

http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00BPCf

http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00G3Hq

Still confused...

The shutter is engraved "Seiko".

Please submit advice that is verified by personal experience and field use

(i.e. not just a test roll just after the repair), not hearsay or pure opinion.

Thank you by advance to those that might help me (and possibly others)!

Varies by the shutter. On some the timing train runs dry, on some it runs with the slightest bit of high quality oil. A little oil does go a long way.

Wiping surfaces often get some grease.

It may also be that some surfaces need smoothing.