Should I switch from Canon to Nikon for weddings?

Discussion in 'Wedding and Event' started by otto_haring, Nov 8, 2009.

1. Sunday morning I woke up with a thought that I should switch from Canon to Nikon and become one of the Nikonians. I am a wedding photographer and it is still early and I am kind of pissed! This is a bad start for a Sunday!

It seems to me that Nikon cameras and also lenses outperform the Canon system. As a matter of fact, I have the top of the line gear; Canon 5D, Canon 85mm 1.2L, 35mm 1.4L, 70-200 2.8L, etc… AND I am not really impressed by the new Canon 5D Mark II either! It seems to me that Nikon cameras are much better (ALREADY!) and Canon is just catching up…. All the photographers I adore SEEM to have NIKON SYSTEM!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to blame Canon for my pictures but it seems to me that photographers with Nikon cameras and lenses more easily create the unique special look (beautiful sharp, crisp, fresh images with dreamy look, and colors which pop!) on their images which distinguishes them from the REST of us.

To be honest I am a bit hesitant to do it. Do you think it is ME or what? My site with all the pictures: "haring photography miami " . Be honest! I am good with criticism. I need to find out! Please advise me! Has anybody actually changed after already having the top of the line Canon lenses? Was there an improvement? As you know this would be an expensive switch. Thanks! Otto