Should I purchase a Sekonic L-358 lightmeter for my work?

dan_k6

<p>I keep hearing how the pro's and serious amateurs rely on a lightmeter to nail their exposures. I'm the photographer for our Church. I shoot at our Church and 2 other affiliated Churches. I'm not a paid professional just a hobbyist.<br>

I have some serious equipment and I want to know if learning to use a lightmeter would help my work out.<br>

I shoot with a Nikon D200, 17-55, 80-200 2.8, SB-800, Quantum Turbo SC. I like to shoot TTL most times but now I want to get into shooting in Manual and Auto modes.<br>

I rarely use a tripod. Most of my work is walk around, then shoot. The shooting is fast and goes with the flow of the Church service or event. With this type of shooting, how do I incorporate a light meter like the Sekonic. Can you tell me how I have to incorporate the light meter into my shooting. I'm a newbie when it comes to the lightmeter. I just see portrait photographers in the studio using them with posed models. I'm not sure how to incorporate it into faster shooting sessions.</p>

<p>Thanks</p>