Should I get the Nikon 50mm AF-S or the 105mm AF-S ?

mel_cox

<p>I'm in a quandary about which lens to get.<br /> I'm an amateur and take pictures of my Grandson, family, birds, bugs, and flowers.<br /> I have a D300 and D40X with the following Nikon lenses:<br>

<br /> 18-55, 55-200 AF-S kit lenses. (rarely used)<br /> <br /> 18-200 AF-S (my walk around lens and stays on the camera most of the time)<br /> <br /> 70-300 AF-S (for when I need to get closer to the birds or bugs)<br /> <br /> I had a 50mm 1.4 D Nikon lens which I just sold with the idea of replacing it with the new 50mm AF-S. <br /> I liked the 50mm because of its low-light capabilities and small size.<br /> <br /> My intention was to upgrade from the D to the DX AF-S however, I'm wondering if a 105mm AF-S might be a better choice.<br /> The 50mm is appealing because of the focal length and low light capabilities but the 105mm is appealing because of the macro possibilities. I'm concerned about the working distance for shots of my grandson with the 105mm.<br>

What's a guy to do?????<br /> <br /> Should I stick with the plan to get the 50mm AF-S or go for the 105mm AF-S?<br /> <br /> Thanks, Mel</p>

<p>Mel - you already have the focal length of 105mm covered in your present set of lenses, so you should be familiar with the working distance for grandson shots...it doesn't change with lenses. Although I don't have the AF-S version for my Nikon, (I have the 105/2.8 AF-D non VR) I have to say the 105 is a terrific lens for macro work. Since most macro work is done in the manual focus mode anyway, the AF features are pretty much irrelevant to me. Of course the 50/1.4 does allow for better low light shots. Since you just sold your D version you know whether or not you will really use the AF-S version. If so, why not get the 50 and 105 and sell off your kit lenses since you rarely use them and you're already covered in the same ranges with your other lenses.</p>