Should I choose M5 over M6?

wooi_loon

<p>Hi,<br>

I have been shooting Canonet since early this year (Im new to rangefinder) and plan to upgrade to Leica M. Im quite interested in M5, because of its larger size and with meter. I saw one Chrome 2-lug version cost about US1200 at Tamarkin, stated Ex++, I assume it should be working properly. However, there are plenty of M6 classic on Ebay, which probably cost about the same. So the question: Is there any reason why shouldn't I choose M5 over M6?<br>

Many thanks for the comments and tips.<br>

Regards, WL</p>

<p>If your going to purchase one Leica M with meter, the M6 Classic is probably the best value out there. The meter system of the M5 involves a moving meter that needs to physically move out of the way for an exposure whereas the M6 has the white dot on the shutter curtain that has become the Leica standard and is used on the M6TTL, MP and M7. That system is without peer for a Leica M.<br>

But the choice should really be made by actually using each and making the decision based on what you feel best with as they both will take the same picture with the same lens. Good luck!-Dick</p>

<p>The M5 failed for many reasons.. My Dealer at time could not get rid of it. i liked the camera but since learned that it has flaws like any M-camera. The shutter problems though unique. i would think twice. The M6 in both issues, Classic and TTL have gone for well over 20 years.It is a great camera.I being somewhat of a rebel still prefer to shoot with my M3. i prefer 50mm lenses.(On RFDR or SLR). Check shutter speeds. See RFDR is hitting target. The Black "chrome" wears ugly but what the heck!</p>

<p>M5 like the M6, are fine lens holders. Just remember that in the M5 you're dealing with a vastly more complex metering system that involves<strong> a lot more </strong>mechanical movements. The M6 is completely solid state. (The only thing that moves is the shutter speed wiper contact)</p>