Shooting Restaurant Interiors

dloose

I've been asked by a local architect to photograph a restaurant

interior that she designed. The photos are for her portfolio

primarily, as well as for the client and her company. I've searched

here online quite a bit, and found some good information, and

corresponded with some that have tackled this.

I thought I'd bring up the topic here again, since much of what is

here is a few years back, and wanted to have a more interactive

discussion. I'm basically an amateur photographer, but this

architect is aware and familiar with what I've done before.

I plan to use my Canon 10D, and I'm planning to purchase the 17-40mm

zoom to use here. I would also plan on using natural light as much

as possible, I think that the long exposures with the 10D provide a

nice natural look. Besides, a ton of lights is beyond my means.

Is the 17 wide enough for interiors of this sort? Also, I've shot

some practice shots in a home, and one concern is where one light is

very bright relative to others, any tips for balancing light output

so that the exposure remains within the latitude of the camera?

I'm also thinking it might be nice to include some people, at least

for some pics. I think that the blurred motion during a long

exposure would bring some life to the pictures, while the blur keeps

focus on the interior.

Much thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Depending on the angles you choose and the size of the restaurant a 17mm (effective 27mm on the 10D) can possibly be too tight. Nevertheless I wouldn't invest on a super wide angle just for that assignment; live with the limitation and just change your perspective if the need arise. If you really need to shoot super wide for this time only it would make more sense to shoot film instead.