essay I am reading on Frank's Americans suggested a similar or even

lower ratio for the images in that book. FWIW, my rough cut for 35mm

B+W street photography usually represents about 1% of the frames I

shoot (obviously this is because I am less rigorous than Frank and

Salgado, not because I am better), of which I eventually lose another

third or so. For static architectural work on medium or large format,

it's more like 1 in 10 to 1 in 20.

What's your normal shooting ratio - out of interest - and how does it

vary with different equipment / subject matter / approach?

Well, I'm no professional and most of my images are seen only by family and friends so I'm not too picky when it comes to selecting images for enlarging. When I was doing street photography with a 35mm camera I would usually really like one or two shots out of 36. Now that I shoot medium format and get 10 shots per roll (which just means I change film more often, I usually shoot 3-5 rolls depending on any number of things) I usually like three or four images per roll. Why the increase? Well for one thing using medium format makes me slow down and really consider what they I'm shooting. Plus the quality of medium format negatives is just way beyond what I was able to achieve with 35mm.

Regards,

Marc

The major variable for me seems to be myself. Some days I'm

on, and nearly every shot will be a keeper. Some days I'm off,

and nearly every shot is a throw away. And I can almost always

tell when I'm getting it, before even seeing the negs.

<p>For street photography I post about 5-10% to <a href=http://www.johnsidlo.com/imagesNew.html>my web site</a>, but that is more like a blog than anything. I think only about 10% of that is what I'm really proud of. So 1% sounds like a good estimate.</p>

while i think my photographic skills have improved over time, my editing skills have not. with each new contact sheet or set of prints, i continue to be amazed at my percieved lack of talent.