poetic photo by k. lynne

The other night i was trying to shoot some downtown pics and pics of the lunar

eclipse, no matter what i put my settings on (A,P, S) it would not take the

pic. Now I am just learning about Fstops and all that stuff, but what do you

suggest? I ended up going inside to get my sony cyber H-2, which got a great

shot of the eclipse, but i love my Oly and want to learn the settings for no

light or low light.

Tomorrow I am going to a birthday party at a bar, im sure it will be very low

light, what settings should I use? I would appreciate your help, thanks!!

Remember the moon is as bright as daylight so pretty much any picture you take of the moon at night will require a graduated density filter. Digital cameras are going to be dead and determined to fire their flash (which doesn't help too much with something several hundred thousand miles away). You are better off with digital exposing one shot for the street (WITHOUT FLASH) and one for the moon and using some cropping scheme. You're going to want to get out the tripod too. (definitely go manual for the moon, the camera will almost always overexpose because it averages, try the spot meter)<p>

First which camera are you using? SLRs are going to get you there faster and P+S cameras are their own problems.<p>

For indoors you can try (A.) letting the camera fire off it's flash which will produce a classic "deer in the headlights" photo. That works for most people. (B.) crank up the ASA (sensitivity to light, trades off with digital noise) which may or may not work depending on the light. If you're on film you could be more inventive but by the sounds of things you want leave the camera on auto for the bar (fire the flash).<p>