Shooting moving object in low light without flash

duy_le

<p>Hi,<br /> I am very new to this shooting technique and wondering if there is any tips you guys can point out to help me gain experiences as below:<br /> I tried to shoot this object without flash but then, when I increase ISO and decrease shutter speed, the object still moves.<br /> When I increase the shutter speed and maintain the ISO then it seemes quite dark.<br /> I have seen some pic that people shoot in concert where the light is low and dont use flash, the object is freezed. Can anyone show me how?<br /> Thanks</p><div>00XSCC-288955584.jpg.446564b2c8e8d401959fc8d2dafe68f1.jpg</div>

<p>The reason the second photo is darker than the first is you increased shutter speed from 1/8" to 1/100", which is 12.5 folds, and you increased ISO from 400 to 1600, only 4 folds. to get the same level of exposure, you need to use lower speed or higher ISO.<br>

however, shutter speed lower than 1/100" might be too slow for you to freeze the moving object, and higher ISO may get the photo too grainy.<br>

from here you may increase your lens aperture for higher exposure.<br>

hope it helps.<br>

-Greg</p>

<p>Your key factor here is shutter speed. You must maintain a shutter speed that can freeze the motion. Therfore you should use shutter speed priority setting of say 60, 50,or 40 Depending on your lens and subject movement speed. The shutter speed is then locked and won't change any slower to result in blur.<br /> After that the auto ISO and auto aperture either can compensate for the lighting condition or it is just to dark for both to make up for the locked shutter speed that can not get any slower. Your too dark photo could probably be rescued with lighting shadows adjustments in PP. I use PS Elements 5.0 Perhaps the photos of concerts you refer to were also brightened and lightened with PP (post processing)</p>