Shooting interior architecture/design with simple light setup?

gregcoad

I hope I'm posting this question in the right forum...

I am a residential renovations contractor specialized in

basement development. I am trying to decide what my

best option is for photographing our completed projects

for the gallery section of our website. Hiring a pro is

probably the best option but also probably the most

costly. I have worked out budgets of between $4-6k to

have 8 basements professionally photographed. I am a

fairly competent amateur photographer and I have a

very solid understanding and decent amount of

experience with off camera lighting. I have done a fair

amount of interior real estate type photography as well,

but mostly relied on natural light and some HDR

techniques as well to deal with lighting challenges. I

recently sold all of my Canon bodies, lenses, and speed

lights to join the mirrorless revolution a la the Sony a7.

So armed with my a7 and the new FE 16-35 F4 I am

contemplating tackling this interior assignment myself.

Keeping in mind that these are typically smaller rooms

(150-200 sqft) and bathrooms, with generally not much

natural light, and often some pretty wild color

temperature combos (think LED, CFL, halogen and

natural light) My questions are:

1. Do I really even need strobes? I hate post processing

so I always try to keep that to a minimum. Will the in

camera HDR function achieve decent enough results? If

I'm going to just available light, I don't want to be

spending hours in post blending exposures.

2. If strobe lighting of some kind is an absolute

necessity, what's the simplest set up that I might get by

with? Is it realistic to think that one 250ws strobe and a

wireless trigger will be adequate? Will a couple Sony

hotshoe flashes using their integrated IR triggering get

the job done? I'd certainly find more use for a few

hotshoe flashes in other situations whereas a self-