shooting boxing

rick_astley

Hello fellow pentaxians, I am an amerature photographer who has been assigned to shoot at a boxing tournament

soon. The tournament will be held in some buliding at night so ambient light will be limited. Im hoping to shoot at a

high enough shutter speed to catch the motion of the guys but not under expose the picture too much. I want to use

my flash but i dont htink the boxers will want me to use it. I currently own a k200d, the starting DA 18-55mm lens,

and the SMC 75-300mm lens. For a flash i have the af 360 fgz which will be of great help. I would greatly appreciate

any feedback.

Thanks

Direct flash might not be acceptable. If you can strobe it from above there shouldn't be a problem, but you only have 1 flash so that would be tough.

The reality is short duration flash doesn't really bother anyone until they notice it. I mean think about it for a minute, at a baseball game thousands of flashes go off, and a batter must keep his eye on a apple sized baseball traveling at 90-102 mph, that often breaks left or right, or down or even up by as much as a foot.

The problem arises when someone is having a bad game, or a bad day and they notice the flash, even if them noticing the flash didn't affect their performance they will use it as an excuse to get you to stop.

So check with the venue to see what is acceptable. If the tournament is amateur and they don't have any explicit rules in the photographers rules, then it's up to the venue.

My guess is going for motion is a good idea since your lenses are slow, stopping action in a low lit bowing venue will be tough.

Hi Rick

Shooting boxing is tricky. I have done both one pro – boxing tournament and several martial arts events.

Firstly

You will not be allowed to use your flash during the bouts.

As official photographer you must get yourself next to the ring. Essentially you will be shooting from either

just off the mat or over the lower rope.