shooting an indoor wedding

yuzeth_benitez

hey there, so i am a beginner and have just purchased an olympus e500. i would

like to start self teaching to photograph weddings, photography seems to come

pretty natural to me, i just don't know technical/terms and procedures...i just

want to know what do i do for lighting in the reception halls since they are

pretty dark...what has worked for you? What additional equiptment should i start

to think about purchasing? if you would use simple terms i would so appreciate

it, like i said i'm a beginner...thanks!

If you are a beginner start by reading all these articles:

http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a?topic_id=2021&category=First+Timer+and+Newcomers+to+Wedding+Photog%2e

Rember, you need 2 of everything, incase of failure, and you don't have a second chance to get it right. So, make sure you know exactly what you are doing before you commit to doing it.

The most valueable thing to do it to assist a pro, and learn from them. It is the best learning experience you can get. Don't do your own, until you have assisted.

Being a relatively new photographer myself, and an owner of the E500, I would suggest you take plenty of other group pictures at gatherings before even thinking of doing weddings. Something where your life will not end when the couple comes for your blood if you mess up. I have learned plenty of things on this board, and still don't feel I am anywhere near ready to do a wedding. I am also enrolled in the New York Inst. of Photography, plus I have been through some online courses with professionals.