Shooting a large group

john_ashby2

<p>On Thursday I have an assignment to shoot a group of about 60 people, and I've never done more than about 6 before and always in studio with nice strobes and backdrops, so I'm hoping for some advice, both about composition and technique. The room is formally decorated with dark wood paneling, lit by overhead fluorescents, but not brightly enough. I will need a final print of at least 16x20 which is pushing my camera even under ideal studio lighting. </p>

<p>I took a few test subjects to stand around the area for practice and couldn't get a decent result. The faces are blurred and noisy almost to being unrecognizable, I was shooting at 1/30th second, f4, iso 200, with a tripod (and VR turned off). I tried with an off-camera speedlite pointing from the side at a 45 degree angle and towards the ceiling at a 45 degree angle and without a flash.</p>

<p>In terms of gear, I have a D90 with the 18-200 lens, a 50mm 1.8 lens, and an SB-800. I may be able to borrow a second SB-800 and an SB-900 but I can't count on it.</p>

<p>Thanks for any suggestions you can make.</p>

Use a tripod, wide angle and crank the ISO to 800 or more. If you can get or rent another Nikon

flash do so and use CLS to sync them wirelessly. Get a ladder so you can shoot down on the

group and make sure you shoot about 5.6 or smaller to get several rows in focus DOF wise.

<p>You may not have enough depth of field with the F=4 to cover 60 people.<br>

I would use faster than 1/30 sec even if on tripod, even if people were told to freeze.<br>

If your main source of light was a flash, then there should be no motion blur, but possibly out of focus blur.</p>

<p>This is how I would shoot this so take it with a grain of salt.<br>