Shoe camera flash as background / hair light

ian_collins1

Hi all,

I am new to studio lighting, and primarily need to photograph

actor's headshots. I use 2 x Bowens monolights with Softbox &

Umbrella as Key & Fill.

I was hoping to save a little by using one Hot-Shoe flash (or

perhaps 2) as a background light. Put it on a tripod, optical slave,

Manual power setting etc. This I don't forsee problems with.

I am thinking of using one as a hair light, but realise that without

barn doors that it will be difficult to prevent flare.

I currently have 1x 550EX that can be set manually. I'm thinking of

an old Manual flash to go with it as a hair light or second

background light.

Any tips or ideas? What are the drawbacks?

Thanks

-Ian

Well, I tried this setup using a 550EX as a hairlignt and a Wein Peanut to trigger it from the flash of my AB800's. I found an incompatability with the Wein and the 550. The flash would fire once, but I had to power cycle the flash to get it to work again.

I then tried a Sunpak 383 Super and though it worked with the peanut, I found that the output really wasn't high enough. With both flashes, I used a home made snoot to focus the light and it still wasn't really enough. Ultimately, I ended up using a reflector for fill and one of the AB's as a hair light and sold the 383.

Now, I didn't try the flash as a background light, as I was using a dark background. I suppose it might work for that.

Ditto what Russell said. I have one of those little $15 peanut flashes. Taped construction paper around it to form a snoot to confine the light to just the hair or other location. Works fine.

The peanut comes with a tiny flash stand that can sit on any horizontal surface, and it's hinged to adjust the angle. There's a tripod socket so it can be mounted just about anywhere. It's so cute I just want to squeeze it 'til it pops.