Shen Hao TFC45-1

stu dall

Recently bought the above camera used. I am totally new to LF, so bought a

couple of books, after receiving great advice here. On reading up on the

movements of LF cameras, it would appear i've made a bum purchase, as it seems

that 'back tilt' is by far the most commonly used movement. Yep you guessed

correctly...no back tilt on this model!

This is obviously one of the 1st Shen Hao models, albeit in 'as new' condition.

So...can anybody shed some light on this model, and confirm my worst fears,

that firstly there definitely is no back tilt on this one, and or, can it be

easily modified to incorporate this.

Also...the camera has all other movements, including front tilt/rise and

fall/swing, and back rise and fall and swing; so can I scrape by without back

tilt or not.

One of the main reasons for me moving to LF, was the whole front to back

sharpness issue, where MF sometimes falls short in the less conventional

situations.

Stu.

"as it seems that 'back tilt' is by far the most commonly used movement."

Not really. From my experience, lens tilt is the most commonly used method of altering the plane of focus. You can use back tilt, but doing so can overempasize the size of the foreground.