Wasnt sure where to put this, so I posting here. I have been using a free pentax MG for 5 years with a 50mm f/2.0 lens that I found in the basement. Time to upgrade everything. I have shot so much with this, probably 200 rolls. Its the only camera I have, but time to retire it.

I have many requirements, but I will focus on the most important one first and the most common situation I find myself in.

I typically walk around the city at night, looking for interesting scenes with odd or bright lighting. Lots of contrast. And I do this with film. Either cinestill 800T or delta 3200 black and white.

With ilford delta 3200 shot at 1600 and f/2.0 I can usually get most things at night I like at a 1/60 shutter without a tripod. And I do not want to incorporate a tripod. I hate drawing attention to myself as sometimes I wander around at night in some suspect areas (they are always the most interesting) so I don't want to stop and start pulling out equipment.

I would like to use a larger aperture than f/2.0 that is also capable of a sharper image at that larger aperture than what I am using now, and get these shots with a faster shutter. This will also permit me to try out lower speed black and white film in these situations.

I will spend all of the money on the lens first and then find the cheapest functional body to attach. My budget is high, I would spend 100 dollars or 2000 on a lens. I would prefer to find a sleeper pick over an obviously expensive famous lens. I want to spend as little as possible on the actual film body, so nikon f5,f6,canon eos 1v out of the question. I'm targeting a 2000 dollar lens here max and a camera body no more than 300 dollars.

Again, I don't care about sharpenss at f/8, I care about the best possible edge to edge sharpness at anywhere between f/1.2 to f/2, because of that where I will be trying my best to handhold at 1/30.