Hi all:

I am an absolute newbie to my EOS 300d - just got it Friday - and my photog

skills are at a beginners level.

I'm into astrophotography and I've been advised, when taking certain shots, to

set my focus to infinity.

Is there a way to do this with my cam?

Any help - much appreciated!

Mick

Hi Mick, Actually it's done with your lens. If you put your lens in manual focus look at the distance indicator and you should see a mark at one end that looks similar to a figure "8" - that's infinity. Turn your focus ring to that. Many lenses go a little past infinity to compensate for temperature changes - it's ok to go past "infinity" if your lens does it. That's as "far out" as it'll focus. Good luck!

Look at the lens. There are markings on it in a scale.. one side of the scale is in feet and the other in meters. The ring next to this one on the lens lens should have a dot or mark on it. Line the infinity symbol with the stationary ring mark.

Check by looking thru the camera at a distant horizon which should now be in focus.

I could add more to this, but there is a beginner tutorial on this website. Read that. You need to know how to walk before you can run (we all had to as well). :)

Have fun!

You probably have the "kit" lens (18-55mm EFS) and that doesn't have an infinity mark on it. To find infinity just focus the lens on something close (and in a lit area) and you'll then know that turning the front of the lens, which is where you manually focus that lens, the opposite way until it stops will be infinity. Make sure you have it on manual focus (switch on the lens).

However, all the way to infinity on this lens will still be a bit out of focus as there is allowance, as was said above, for temperature differences. The way to compensate for that is to set the aperture of the lens to at least f/11, which will allow enough depth of field that the difference won't matter at all for star shots.

Thanks, Mark - coincidentally, I copied that article last nite!