sensor life

jason_inskeep

i have a 10D that i bought used to satisfy my photography habit. i was really into film when i started shooting and

when i did some figuring and found that a roll of film costs about 25 dollars or so to have it developed ( as walmart

and most of my local drug stores no longer develope film) ( well walgreens does but only color print film and its still 7

dollars a roll plus the film but it makes me happy just to do it some times.). anyway it costs in developing and

printing or scanning, shipping, and the actual cost of the film about 20+ dollars per roll, and while i like shooting it

that gets a bit expensive. not to mention i am not nearly as thrilled about my first roll of kodachrome comming back

usually fairly well exposed but dreadfully blue in color and not nearly as sharp as i would have expected for some

reason.

from shooting the 10D for a few months i have learned that it is a little on the old side and that electronics as well as

mechanical shutters fail, and this camera is definitely well used. the problem is that i am going on 7+ month

deployment in the next year and i am curious as to whether or not this camera will still be around or if i should try

and buy a new one. but new ones cost a lot of money too and i am wondering if some one knows how long the

sensors in these cameras are supposed to last or what signs they give (if any) before they fail. should i try and get

the shutter replaced before i leave so that i can expect it to last or am i just going to have to find some way of buying

a new camera, hopefully but not likely as good as this one for my budget.

any advice would be greatly appreciated.

jason

Jason,