Senior Yearbook Photos to be taken by Lifetouch ONLY

I am a portrait photographer and have taken senior pictures. Usually I just give a 4x5 print for the yearbook

picture to be submitted to the school's yearbook adviser. Recently more and more seniors have told me that they

are not ALLOWED to have anyone else take their portrait for the yearbook OTHER than Lifetouch, which obviously

has some kind of contract with the school. Even if they have a contract, can Lifetouch say NO you cannot put

that pic in the yearbook. It has to be taken by us. Even if the child hates it? This blows my mind. Please

let me know if anyone knows away around this..... thanks...

-Allison

Lifetouch (as photographers) can't say no. The people putting together the yearbook can. Why not talk to the faculty advisor in charge of the project? Don't ask high school kids to interpret the fine points of contract law, just ask the people putting together the book what the story is. They probably don't want one or two images in the book looking substantially different than the rest.

Lifetouch does the yearbooks too in many cases, and from their perspective its a LOT easier to not have to scan a print, but to just use the already edited digital files.

I dislike them a bit, but I kinda understand that part of it because I create books for people too and hate having to use other pictures.

Matt is correct that it is up to the yearbook staff.

Where I live the portrait for the yearbook has to be formal - black drape for the ladies, tux for the guys. The photo can be done by anyone. Lifetouch is contracted by the schools to do the sports and prom photos. I would also advise getting in touch with the school directly. Talk to the yearbook staff about it.