Sell photos on line

patricioramirez

Hi! I'm a amateur photographer for a youth football club and usually up load all my pictures to FB so parents can log on to their accounts to view them.

I want to sell these same pictures, but in high resolution; have parents download them for maybe $1 USD. Which selling app / site do you recommend? I tried Alamy and SmugMug, but I can't set a low price.

Thanks for your help

Why do you want to set such a low price? Maybe there's a reason that these sites don't allow $1 pricing? Are you only shooting $1 quality?

I've done same and the truth is that, at the time, few parents were willing to pay anything for pictures. I wasn't offering digital downloads, it wasn't really a thing at the time but I don't think that the turn out would be any better.

Hi @patricioramirez,

For me, the main question is: what is your personal motivation for taking photos of a youth football club? It can't be to make money so it must be something else. Perhaps you don't think you're compensated well enough for your time. A different approach might be to discuss with the club whether you could be compensated for your time. Perhaps parents would even chip in.

I've never tried to sell any photos. I live in the Netherlands. Most people are 'digital' here. I agree with @ed_farmer that few people these days (at least in NL) have any need of hi-res photos. Even fewer are willing to pay for them. The vast majority are quite happy viewing photos on digital media. At $1 per photo my guess is that you're unlikely to make more than a few dollars at best.