Selenium Replacement - Westen Master light meter

evanapp

<p>Hey everyone!<br>

I got a cheap Weston Master V light meter from ebay which actually said "in perfect working condition" which seems to be a false statement. The needle is not responding to light at all and I'm not sure if it is because of a dead selenium cell or if I'm doing something wrong.</p>

<p>My question is, is it possible to change the selenium cell myself? I saw that there is a company in London (Megatron) that actually sells the cells. Replacement by them would cost 42 pounds which just doesn't make too much sense since the Weston was supposed to become my small backup light meter. But I'm wondering if it's possible to just buy the cells and replace them myself. Unfortunately I couldn't find any manuals on that online (only a few for how to replace them in old cameras).<br>

Any ideas? Thanks!</p>

<p>I had a Master V done my them about 6 months ago, $80, good as new. Just replacing the cell is usually not enough, QLM also replaces some of the other components. They are fantastic. Call for a quote, he will have you send it in. When he's done, he'll call and get your CC number to charge it to, and send it right out. I can't tell you enough, the guy is top notch.</p>

<p>Selenium cells were vapor deposited as an amorphous layer of material. Sometimes they crystallize. If the cell looks silvery it's shot, if it's still 'black--blue' it's likely ok. Now, resting the cell in light may in fact regenerate it a bit, as selenium is a photovoltaic - photoconductive - photoreceptive material. Possibly other electronic issues may also be present. DIY would involve not only replacing but probably calibrating.<br>

<br /> I'm the manager at facility that makes selenium copier drums, so we've had a bit of experience. 30 years now, yikes! But we don't make cells alas.<br /> Jim</p>

<p>Getting a single custom-cut slabs of Selenium is a very pricey endeavour indeed.<br>