Seeking Information on Old Lens

<p>I have this old lens that an acquaintance gave to me to evaluate for possible purchase. I had a thought it might be interesting to attach it to a modern film or digital camera for a vintage look. But I have little experience with glass this old. The glass is reasonably clean, some dust and light dirt inside, no scratches. Shutter works, such as it is. It's seems un-coated. Naturally, the Zeiss name caught my eye. I have no idea if it's a good lens or not. I can't see any indication of focal length. Was this on a view camera or a folder? What year approx? Any information that can be provided is greatly appreciated.</p><div>00a7lY-449317584.jpg.bbd94dd15cebfb6c363371a9e0490c46.jpg</div>

<p>I would think a view camera. I have an old Kodak lens that looks somewhat like this one. Does the rear assembly unscrew? If so, this may be so it may be attached to a lens board which is mounted on the camera body. Obviously, later view cameras use more modern lenses and shutters, but still use the lens board mounting method as far as I know.<br>

You should rig up a way to mount it on a camera. Might be fun to see what it can do.</p>

<p>Some of the guys on the Large Format photo.net forum know a lot about old view camera lenses, in part because they are still very much usable with good results. You might ask your question there, too, or just provide a cross-reference to this thread.</p>

<p>Kodak, used to make outstanding lenses, a fact which is forgotten now, with the result that they are excellent value on the hated auction site. Anastigmats had various optical designs-- I suspect yours is a tessar, but they also came as dialytes and triplets. You might be able to figure it out by counting reflections. </p>