Second Shooter

tara_green1

<p>I've just shot my first wedding for a friend and have had quite a lot of positive feedback and have already been asked to shoot another wedding in July 2012. It is for a friend, and because I'm new to wedding photography and not 100% confident in my abilities yet, I will not charge the average rates for wedding photography in the area. With that said, I did find on my first shoot, that I often wished I had a second shooter during the preparations and the ceremony, in case I missed some of "the moments" (I actually did quite well in the end, but the anxiety was always there while I was doing it). Is this something you would recommend? And if so, how does the rights for their photographs work out after the day is done? I would like to have the RAW images to process myself, but would I have the right to access them?</p>

<p>Typically the second shooter shoots for your company, and the photos are the property of your company. In most cases, the primary lets the secondary use them for their portfolio, but a photo credit that includes something like "Joe Photog for ABC Company" (with ABC Company being <em>your</em> company name) is normal. This would all be part of a written contract you have with the second shooter. VERY important.</p>

<p>Two photographers have a better chance at getting the moments than one, but even that isn't a sure way to get everything. You can greatly increase your chances of capturing everything by educating yourself about every aspect of the ceremony and reception, including what the unexpected personal touches the couple is including, might be.</p>