Second hand Nikon F4 or F5 ?

royston

I am a relative newcomer to the world of Nikon and have recently purchased a Nikon D80 which I am absolutely

delighted with.

Historically I used the Olympus OM system - but have sold nearly all my OM equipment and my Bronica medium format

kit.

The lenses I intend to purchase for my Nikon system will be of the full frame type, not the digital only design

ones - I am hiring a 80 - 200 mm F2.8 in December and have been warned that I am likely to full in love with it

and end up buying one of them.

Having seen the prices of secondhand F4 and F5 bodies on eBay and with dealers I am very tempted to buy one, for

the occasions where I still would like to use film. I am tempted to pay slightly more perhaps for one from a

dealer where it should come with some form of warranty period.

However I have no working knowledge of either Camera body and would very much appreciate some guidance as to the

differences between the two at a practical day to day level along with any other things which I need to test or

be aware off when evaluating potential examples to purchase.

Also what dealers (UK) should I approach ?

Many thanks

Roy

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The difference between the two bodies is alot. Your best bet for an indepth look at between the bodies is mir site or Google Photography in Malaysia. HTye really are two different machines.

As for dealers?

If you want the best then Greys Of Westminister, they are exclusivley Nikon

ffordes in Scotland are also very good have used them for many things over the years

mxv again big choice of gear to be had.

stick www.*****.co.uk round the names and you should get there.

I have an F4s and I love it.

Still thinking about getting an F5 but think I may go for an F6 instead.

The difference between the two bodies is alot. Your best bet for an indepth look at between the bodies is mir site or