Scanning in a photo club?

peter697

Hi All,

I'm an amateur experimenting with 4x5 photography. Does anybody know if there is a camera club in the Philadelphia area that has a "digital darkroom"? - I would rather pay a membership fee and be part of a community than pay for an expensive scanner for a format that I'm not yet fully committed to.

I checked a few places in the area that have scanning services, but the price of $12 a sheet is ridiculous (have about 30 sheets that I want to scan that I developed myself). I also tried the digital camera approach but I'm not getting great results for some reason and it's very time consuming.

Thank you.

Peter

I can't answer your question directly(especially as I don't live in that area) but an Epson 4990/V700/V750/V800 will do more than a passable job for 4x5 and can be had-especially used-for a fairly reasonable price.

I've had my issues with these(or specifically the V700, although the problem I have I think is likely common to all of them) with medium format film, but have had nothing short of great results with 4x5.

Thanks Doug and Ben for the quick reply and mentioning used scanners. I actually started looking for used scanners on ebay but I heard horror stories about how it's impossible to run them because their driver requires an old operating system, etc. What's your experience?

Old OSs don't scare me off, nor do old/obsolete interfaces.

With that said, VueScan will run any of the Epsons mentioned, and it's kept up to date. I don't know what Windows compatibility is like, but I'd expect the Epson software to not just completely quit working. I run my V700 on OS X Snow Leopard(10.6.8)-you might have issues with a version of Epson Scan that will operate your scanner and run on macOS Catalina(10.15) but as long as you continue running 10.14 or earlier you should be fine.