Scanning 1920's medium and large format negatives

<p>I am relatively new to the field of negatives, slides and converting them to digital. My grandma has between 300-500 old 1920's era negatives, black and white, that she would like to have converted to digital. I have a scanner (Canoscan LiDE 80) that has a 35 mm film adapter but it obviously can't hold bigger negatives. Can I scan large negatives without a film adapter? Does my scanner have a built in transparency adapter, therefore making it capable of scanning them without any additional adapters? Any other advice or scanner recommendations will be greatly appreciated!</p>

The LiDE 80 is a very basic scanner which produces only modest tonal range and resolution by today's standards. Its film adapter is suitable for strips of 35mm negative or slide film only; there is no way to scan transparencies or larger formats. Even the 35mm scans don't really look good.

For your application, I would recommend a better scanner along the lines of the Epson V700/V750, which has a full set of film holders for 35mm, slides, medium format, and 4x5", plus a holder for negatives of non-standard size.

<p>I have recently been digitizing a variety of b/w negatives from the 1920s, '30s and '40s handed down from my father. The negatives range in size from 1 5/8"x2 1/2" to 3"x4" and are from a variety of cameras (unknown to me), most presumably inexpensive "box" and folding camers of that era. I have been taping the negatives to a small lightbox (a ~10"x~12" Porta-Trace) and photographing them with a Canon 300D (6.1 MP), using an old Takumar SMC 50 f/4 macro lens (m42 mount) at f/11 with manual focus and exposure.</p>