Scanning 120 B&W negatives

I have a Hasselblad that I have always printed the negatives from

conventionally onto fiber or RC paper. Years ago I had my own wet

darkroom but would now like to do this work with Photoshop. I

primarily do b&w, but a little color. I do not have a med. format

scanner and do not do a lot of volume, so I would be using my local

lab for scanning. In their brochure, they state that they will do a

25 meg scan for $5 + .30 per meg over 25 meg.

(1)Is this sufficient for 120 film printed to 16x20?

(2) Do I have the scan burned to a CD and then do my work in

Photoshop and put the file back on the CD a take it to them to print

it?

(3) I read about different printing methods. What should I ask for in

the way of printing for prints worthy of display?

I've read a lot of material about scanning, Photoshop, printing,

etc., but nothing that answers these basic workflow questions.

As you can see, I am new to the digital darkroom and would just like

to be able to accomplish something similar to what I used to do in

the wet darkroom. Any help from you experienced digital darkroom

people out there would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Are you talking MP (pixels) or Mb (bytes)? 25 Mb is about DSLR quality (8 Mp), which will hardly do justice for medium format. You could get a 16x20 print from this file, but nothing to crow about.

I scan 6x6 at 4000 dpi, which is about 72 Mp or 440 Mb (16-bit/channel). That would come out abut $125/image at your rates, or about twice that of a drum scan. If you want the quality that medium format can provide, get a film scanner. Otherwise you'd be better off trading it for a DSLR.

Blake,

Get yourself a flatbed scanner like the Epson 4990. Dont waste your time and money with the outside lab: the price quoted by the lab is for a 35mm negative scanned as 8 bits, greyscale.