Scanner recommendation for MF slides

vincent_lau

Hi. I am relatively new to medium format. I use hasselblad mainly fro

landscape and use slide 90% of time. I would like to buy a good

scanner for 6X6 slides. I hope some of you can give me some advices

on which scanner is good. I am also quite new to photoshops and also

want some recommendation on photoshop soft-wares.

Thanks

V. Lau

The Nikon 8000 is good, as is my Minolta Multi Pro. Heresay suggests the Nikon can have banding problems, and a narrow DOF, but I'm sure these are exaggerated. The Minolta on the other hand has disapointing software, with Vuescan working much better. Either will do justice to your Hassy transparencies. The industry standard for photo software is 'Photoshop 7'. There is a smaller version of this called 'Photoshop Elements', which is OK, but only just.

If you are embarking on MF scanning, make sure you have a PC that is up to the task. A Firewire connection is favourite, 1 gig of RAM will deal with the large files you produce and run Photoshop, and a vast hard drive, at least 120 gigabyte will help store images.

I had a Nikon 8000 which I returned because of banding and because the software was about stable as a squirrel on crank. The banding can be fixed by using "Super Fine" mode which causes the scanner to use only one line of its 3 line CCD. This also triples scan times. The software has supposedly also gotten much better since I had mine.

A few caveats to my previous statements are that I had one of the first in the US, I was using the scanner on a dual cpu machine running W2K which is a combination Nikon later recommended against and some examples of the 8000 band much more frequently than others. The 8000 is capable of very good scans when everything is working correctly which is probably more often than not.