I have an Epson 700 Perfection scanner and I want to scan my old slides and

negatives to raw. I can't figure out how to so it in the software that came

with the scanner (Epson & Silverfast). Is there a way to scan directly to raw

in these programs or do I need to scan from Photoshop or Corel? Also is there a

.raw file format or does "raw" cover many formats? If yes which one should I use?

Although I'm not an expert (or close), because no one else seems to have answered, I'll give it a shot (and am hopeful that I'll be corrected if I'm wrong). "RAW" is a general term for a variety of formats (different for every camera brand) that capture all information a camera sensor receives without in-camera processing (for white balance, sharpening, etc.) A scanner works differently from a camera sensor, and I don't believe that RAW is an option. To get high-quality images from a scanner, scan to TIFF at high ppi, but be careful because files can become huge (and thus difficult to manage) and you might consider adjusting scan ppi to match the size of the print you intend to make, adjusting the scan ppi to about 300 dpi for the print.

Some scanner software can output the "raw" data into a TIFF format, i.e., there is no processing in the scanner software. The result is then fairly easily manipulated in Photoshop, with the advantage that the bits only go through one set of processing software. There is an added benefit if you use the PS log software, since it means if you have to re-scan, you can process identically, if desired.

"But the only program that will read this proprietary raw data is SilverFast. This is the same situation. with NikonScan and Vuescan"

Not so with Vuescan: it's raw output is a gamma 1.0 tiff, if output in 16 bit (per channel), or gamma 2.0 tiff if output at 8 bit. In both cases these files are unadjusted, "raw" output, but readable by any other editor such as Photoshop, nothing proprietary.