SCAD online Masters of Photography

I'm a teacher and I need to go back to school for a Master's Degree. I don't want

to get a traditional education Masters. Since I teach Yearbook and Graphic

Design and have a small photography business, I thought it would help me both

personally and professionally to get an MFA in photography. Since I teach full

time and don't live near any major university with a photography masters program,

I have been looking around to see what online programs are out there. I found that

Savannah College of Art and Design had one, and I have applied and been

accepted. Before I commite myself to the program, I wondered if anyone had

heard anything about the school or the program. I have seen some not so great

things floating around about the school, buth they've all been pretty general from

blogs and things. I'm wondering about the schools reputation...is it good? Is this

program worthwhile? Any help anyone has would be great.

Your question deserves a full essay. First, Savannah is a good school. To

learn how its photographers are doing, write to the school and ask where the

students are placed. Visit and talk to the students. If you want a useful

degree, digital media and graphics design are two fields that are flourishing.

UMass Dartmouth has a superb program and is inexpensive. It is four years,

maybe five for a double major. Remember an MFA means "Fine Arts," a field

rarely leading to practical work. To improve photography skills go to PPA

(prof.photog.of America) one-week "schools" througout the US. It takes about 10

years of daily experience to become a good portrait photographer, and the

competition is stiff, and getting harder. Weddings will "always" be there; the

WPPI group is specialized for that field. Yearbooks are mostly photojournalism,

not fine arts. I am not a big fan of learning photography in a college setting

(but a huge fan of college education). If I were to recommend one thing, I