SB-400 Underestimated!

nate_allen1

I know of many people who when considering a flash always kick out the little 400. THIS THING IS GREAT!!!!!! I have

owned mine for about 10 months now and I absolutely love it! I also own an SB-800 and that thing is amazing as

well. HOWEVER, the 800 does not compare in areas with 10 to 20 feet ceilings where if you have that 400 bounced

to 90 degrees and set to ttl, it is amazing. Not only that, it is extremely lightweight, and also low-key if you are at a

party or get-together of somekind. I am a proffesional photographer and have found many times of preference for the

400 over the 800. If you have any comments or disagreements, they are all welcome here.

I few weeks I tried my costumer's SB-400 on my D300 with a 35 mm. It was really nice and compact. Maybe is not as

great as the SB-800 but I thought it was really nit. It also cover my Tokina 11-16 at 11 mm. I was also surprised coz most

of the time here people say that you can't bounce it. By accident the front of the head moved and I found out that it is possible to bounce it, you just can't rotate it. To me it seems like a very good little tool.

I laugh every time I hear someone poo-poo the SB-400. It's a great little design and it's right up there with the 50mm

1.8 as something that always should come along tucked in the corner of your bag. The SB-400 is the perfect flash

90% of the time, and it should be force-fed to Mom's and Dad's buying cameras to shoot the kids. Name one other

way to spend $100 and see that much improvement in the pictures.

I shot a Bar-Mitzva (as a favor, I am not a pro) with my D40 and SB400. I used KR's 1 cent diffuser. It worked fantastic. I did need to change batt's in the middle. I used reg AA's.

A bit off topic, but I made the diffuserwith a heavy white cardboard like paper from a folder. I used packing tape on the back seams. I added velcro to the right places and on my SB400.