S&D Pub: What turns a boring snap into a interesting photo?

tonmestrom

<p>I go out there, a lot. I wander around a lot and in doing that I observe a lot , far more than I shoot. Still, all in all I snap quit a lot, in a lot of places. It's what I do. I'm not interested in art, I never go out on the premise to produce art. I'm a photographer. That's what I do.</p>

<p>But between all those photos there are some that seem to speak more than others. For why? Gut feeling, or just because it feels right? Frankly I don't know and that's what makes editing so damned hard. It's nice if people see the same things I saw or even if they see quit something else. It doesn't mind as long as it speaks to them at all, more importantly still, to me.</p>

<p>So what is it that turns a boring snap into a interesting photo?</p><div>00UwRt-187687584.jpg.174dc6b9c91e21f71ae88b80cc669768.jpg</div>

<p>Generally speaking there are as many opinions out there (on what is good) as there are pictures.</p>

<p>Tastes differ. Period.</p>

<p>What strikes you, what you can stand behind: enlarge, cherish, promote in shows, sell ...</p>

<p>You are the decider. If your favorites are dark, gloomy pics, let us say, then perfect them and let the others slide a while. Maybe in a year you will prefer your nature ones, so repeat of what I spoke above about the gloomy ones, etc ... : work, repeat, reassess, redirect your love and effort.</p>

<p>You are the artist. You suit your own taste, destiny, growth.</p>

<p>Whatever the public says, are they right or wrong? van Gogh did not sell one pic, did he? His brother could not sell them either for a long while after Vincent's death .. Why should you see success? Vincent did so posthumously. </p>

<p>We toil in darkness to see the light .... and photograph. The path is fun, isn't it, our life?</p>

<p>Just keep up your effort to your own pleasure and growth etc! Good path!</p>