RZ cocking lever and shutter release problem

wim_scheyltjens

<p>Hi,<br>

I just bought a mint RZ body, back (Ebay – top seller) and 5 lenses (KEH), so Items should be in perfect working order, I guess I’m doing something wrong then. I've never worked with an RZ before.<br>

I've put a new battery in, the back is secure on the body, there’s no film loaded and the dark slide is out.<br>

As the manual says: “it is best to become acquainted with the method of releasing the shutter before using film in the camera”<br>

The steps are:<br>

1) Rotate the release button collar until it is aligned with the one immediately below, check<br>

2) Remove the dark slide, check<br>

3) Set the R-M lever to the “M”position, check<br>

4) Push the cocking lever all the way down<br>

I can’t (I know it’s not a good idea to try and force anything)<br>

5) press the shutter release button<br>

When I do press the button I hear a series 3 rapid beeps but nothing happens</p>

<p>I found some relating posts on photo.net, but nothing that works in my case<br>

Also, I can’t rotate the release button collar till it aligns with the orange dot (manual mode)<br>

When I take off the lens, I can open up the shutter blades manually with the shutter cocking pins, but they only go as far as the green dot (the manual says rotate them as far as they will go – to the red dot) then if I attach the lens to the body, the shutter blades automatically close. In M mode the lever won't come down and I hear the beeps.<br>

This time I tried to push and rotate the cocking pins harder, but still the green dot is the farthest possible. Now when I attach the lens to the body, the shutter blades stay open? But when I push the cocking lever down (the release button collar is now between the M and R mode), the lever just comes up again, and an orange light appears in the WLF when I press the shutter release button? In M mode I can’t push the cocking lever down as in my previous attempt and I hear the beeps<br>