RIP

mickeysimpson

This is my first attempt at select and mask in Photoshop CC. I used a photo from an old cemetery that I believed had the potential for “a dramatic image”. I first created the base image to get what I thought was a stark color image and then used select and mask to get the sky out. I created a black and white layer maximizing the contrast to get a foreboding sky. I had a good time learning to use select and mask and was please with the results.

I’m looking forward to honest an honest critique.

Mick

239040888_20091030IMG_6316EmilysCornerCemeteryMWSC_BWV2a.thumb.jpg.fb62156a778b6e2dae6e31cd96e06a08.jpg

• Like 3

I like your stated goal for this. Somehow the vertical format doesn't feel like it's doing the whole thing justice, though I imagine you shot vertically to include all of the tree.

On the processing, I worry that "drama" is bordering on harsh and maybe even a bit lurid in terms of the so strong and unnatural colors and the gritty feel among the tombstones. I think you can find a place where drama is less heavy but still emotional, less overwrought but still expressive.

I'm thinking of atmosphere that's still somewhat ghoulish without being garish.

• Like 1

"You talkin' to me?"

I like your stated goal for this. Somehow the vertical format doesn't feel like it's doing the whole thing justice, though I imagine you shot vertically to include all of the tree.

On the processing, I worry that "drama" is bordering on harsh and maybe even a bit lurid in terms of the so strong and unnatural colors and the gritty feel among the tombstones. I think you can find a place where drama is less heavy but still emotional, less overwrought but still expressive.

I'm thinking of atmosphere that's still somewhat ghoulish without being garish.