Rewinded uncorrectly?

jaylevent

This is my first time using an analog camera and i finished taking all the pictures in my roll. I tried to rewind using the instructions from the manual but realized i stopped at pic 9 or something. I then pushed the buttons again except it unrolled the film i think? My film frame counter has returned to 36 instead of the S it should be showing, but if i try to rewind again it doesnt do anything. Also, there is a little film advance indicator window and i think its showing me the same thing as when i loaded the camera. What should I do? My camera is a Nikon F-401x if that helps.

What is this analog camera of which you speak?

In any case, as long as the batteries in your camera are good and you initiated a rewind cycle by pressing the two buttons, there's no reason to think the film didn't rewind correctly. You should have heard a motor running for 10-20 seconds(I have an N4004, which is called the F-401 everywhere else in the world) and I don't remember it being a particularly fast rewinder. In any case, the camera is "smart" enough to keep rewinding until all the film is back in the can.

I know Nikon says the counter should count backwards when you rewind the film, and I honesty haven't used mine enough to pay attention to whether or not that's the case. Generally, though, this style frame counter only resets when you open the back.

• 4 weeks later...
In an emergency, a heavy coat can be used as a changing bag. You need to close up the big holes somehow and put your arms into the sleeves from the end...

here from the professional cameraman's handbook:

[ATTACH=full]1221468[/ATTACH]