printers (7600/9600, etc.), which use an additional "light black"

(presumably Japanese for "gray") ink, supposedly to improve the tonal

quality of B + W prints. Anybody with any experience making B + W

prints with these new printers, esp versus the Cone quadtone inkset

and "piezography"?

Regards,

Nathan

Nathan,

I can't directly answer your question, as I have no experience with the Cone products. However, there is a review of the new 2200 printer at luminous-landscape.com that discusses this issue.

Thhere are several reviews on the site, dealing with various aspects of the printer, including black and white printing. The author of the initial review (Michael Reichmann) indicated that he has done away with his piezography printer in favor of the new inks in the 2200.

I believe the new larger printers are built around the same printer head and inks, so results should be similar.

The article can be found at:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/printers/Epson2200.shtml

and there is a link to other articles at the bottom. Also, go to the 'What's New' section to see all the articles on the 2200, as there has been great consternation toward Epson USA over the lack of inclusion of a program called the 'Gray Balancer' which provides powerful control over the appearence of black and white prints.

---Michael

Nathan, I own one of the new Epson 7600 printers and have made approximately 300 linear feet of prints with it so far. Here are my thoughts.

First, the 7600 is fantastically sharp-- noticeably sharper than any previous inkjet printer (including all the Epsons). For small prints it is really amazing-- it will print a line the width of a human hair. For larger prints I doubt the difference would be noticable between the 7600 and a previous Epson such as the 7000, because then the limitation is the sharpness of the file, not the sharpness of the printer.