Restrictions on "professional" camera usage in India (Rajasthan)?

david_henderson

<p>I'm in the middle of organising an 18 day trip to Rajasthan for early 2012. The company I'm using to organise hotels, Car/driver and guides has started to make the occasional noise about "professional" cameras not being allowed in some locations. I'm aware that I won't be able to use a tripod in monuments, and aware that some places will want to make a charge for using a camera, and even aware that a small number of religious sites would ban photography inside the site at all. <br>

But I wasn't thinking till now that anyone might look at my 5D mkii and 3 zooms and say "you can't bring that in here because its a professional camera." Obviously I'm a photographer. I'm going to India to take photographs and if I can't take photographs fairly unrestricted then I don't want to go. I have friends who have been round Rajasthan with dslrs and didn't mention any problems. I visited India in 2001 and had no problems with a Mamiya 7 and Bronica, albeit that the Bronica wasn't a whole lot of use without a tripod. <br>

So, my question is whether my Travel Agent (based in Delhi) is right to raise this as an issue, or is it something that happens very rarely and most of the time I'll be OK? I'd appreciate the views of those in India, or who have photographed there with a dslr recently.</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>I was in India (throughout Rajasthan) last year and I faced no problems carrying a couple of D3s with me with 4-5 lenses. Nobody batted an eyelid. Admittedly, there were some places (I think the Taj was one of them, but I distinctly remember at least one other place for sure, maybe two) where professional photographers need to get a "camera" licence, which is basically a way they get to charge more to foreigners who obviously have more money!</p>