know anything about it (the only camera stores I know of are places

like Wolf Camera)? Are there ways I could find out on my own if it

works (consider that I know almost nothing about the mechanics of

vintage cameras besides the basic principles and what I can remember

from when I was little)?

And assuming I get it working, are there places that even develop 126

film any more? I'm a novice that hasn't learned how to develop her own

film yet.

Melissa, Kodak must have made a couple hundred different types of Instamatics. From what I can tell, your camera has two shutter speeds 1/40 and 1/90 with a fixed aperture of f/11. I'm going to guess and say that there is no need to focus this camera.

You can buy 126 film at J&C Photography (www.jandcphotography.com/). I think Frugal Photographer (www.frugalphotographer.com) has links for processing and printing 126 film, but I couldn't get their page to load. I've bought film from J&C without any problems.

I think the easiest way to see if the shutter still works is to try to advance the film/cock the shutter and then look through the plastic window in the back and see if the shutter opens when you press the shutter release. HOWEVER, it's possible that you'll need film to cock the shutter. Each camera is different, so I can't say with certainty that it's one way or the other.

I doubt most camera stores will even know what 126 film is, and I doubt even more that anyone will know how to operate the camera. Unless you find an old-time camera shop.