resizing pictures in pixels

s.l._z.

<p>What are the dimensions (in pixels) that I need to crop a senior wallet for printing? Also what are the dimensions for a 5x7 and 8x10 (in pixels) My original photo is 2560x1920. I am new to this so please no rude comments. Thanks</p>

<p>Ideally best photo quality is obtained when the image is printed at 300 pixels/inch.<br>

So: an 8x10 will print best at a size of 2400x3000 pixels.<br>

The 5x7 will be best printed at 1500x2100 pixels and so on.....<br>

Your original <em>can </em>be up-sized as needed with little visible quality loss,(up to a certain size), in an editing program....Regards, Robert</p>

<p>Sarah, sounds like you have an Olympus or other digital camera with a 4:3 aspect ratio (which includes the Micro 4:3 cameras by Panasonic and others). That aspect ratio may require some cropping to fit traditional print sizes, just as the more common 3:2 aspect ratio for many dSLRs (which derives from the familiar 35mm film aspect ratio) requires cropping to fit an 8x10 print.</p>

<p>At the 300 pixels per inch specification Robert mentioned that will give you a print 8.5 x 6.4 inches or 21.7 x 16.3 cm. Or, if you prefer a print closer to 8x10, that same 4:3 aspect ratio at 300 ppi will give you a 10 x 7.5 inch print. This will also require resampling the file to a slightly larger file size in order to maintain the other factors - aspect ratio, print dimensions and resolution in pixels per inch.</p>

<p>The alternative is to choose a lesser resolution while maintaining the original aspect ratio, print dimensions and overall file size. For example, a 200 ppi resolution while maintaining all other factors - pixel dimensions, aspect ratio and file size - would give you a print 12.8 x 9.6 inches. Depending on the image content and viewing distance this may be an acceptable ppi resolution.</p>