Request your recommended 'noob-to-digital-&-scanning' link

<p>Yes I am a total newbie to film scanning and don't know an awful lot about digital stuff in general.</p>

<p>Sure I could Google and spend 2 weeks reading rubbish websites thinking they are good...that's why I am asking for your recommendations as hopefully you will know what is good info and what is not.</p>

<p>I'm looking for top to toe website that puts all this digital stuff into some kind of sensible order so I know what to to and why I'm doing it and how I can tell I'm doing it right.</p>

<p>I'm looking for more than tips or technique as these seem to indicate a basic understanding of the whole operation. Its the whole digital operation I'm needing to find out about and if its also including the V700 then all the better.</p>

<p>I've seen scantips.com recommended, anymore sites I should know about?</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I have never really seen one.<br /> MAybe Norman Koren might have a lot of good info on it.<br /> Here are sections on scanning.<br /> http://www.normankoren.com/scanners.html<br /> http://www.normankoren.com/makingfineprints2.html<br>

Site map<br>

http://www.normankoren.com/sitemap.html<br>

If I might add, just figure out how big you want to print, what rez to print at,<br /> IE printing on a lightjet at 204 dpi is good, inkjet, from 200-300 dpi or there abouts.<br /> You want enough native rez to get you to that print size without having to resize the digital image.<br /> IE if you shoot 35mm film and scan at 3600 dpi and print on a lightjet at 204 dpi the max you could enlarge is 16" x 24".</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Look up Neil Currie's website and see what he has to say about scaling and scanning and printing. Neil's day job is as a math teacher; he's presented the best, concise, explanation of choosing those ratios and why that I've seen.</p>