Remote/automatic triggers

bill c.

I'm an experienced pro photographer, but I don't have any experience with

remote triggers. Lately my video security system has been picking up some very

strange animals, but the resolution isn't good enough to make a definitive

judgement about what they are, and I want to get some good shots of them.

I live just outside of Washington, DC. There is one critter that seems to be

either a badger, mink, wolverine, or huge meerkat, another that might be a

bobcat or small mountain lion, and another I'm trying to determine if it is a

fox or a coyote. Coyote's have been spotted within a few tens of miles of here

and foxes are all over, so they're expected, but none of the others are.

Whatever it is that looks like a member of the wolverine family can stand on

its hind legs exactly like a meerkat, but looks to weigh about 50 lb(the only

way it might be a meerkat that size is if it escaped from a government genetic

experiment, which isn't as far-fetched as it sounds as a major USDA research

lab is less than a mile away).

The path that these critters travel is a sidewalk that goes beside my house

down to a lake, though they do seem to come up on my property from time to

time. The path is fairly free from obstructions, and if necessary I can mount

the camera on my back porch, which is very protected from the weather, or even

build an enclusure.

I'm Nikon-based with a D2x and D70 for digital, with a couple of SB-800

flashes. I also have a host of studio flashes including some Alien Bees that I

could leave on all night long. I also have a Pocket Wizard xmitter and two

receivers. The area in question is also covered by motion-sensor lights.

Lenses aren't a problem, I can get whatever I need.

Since I'm just doing this as a lark and don't expect to make any money at it,

I'm not looking to invest much either.

My thought at this time is to see if there is an inexpensive infra-red or even