Reliably uploading large archives to Amazon S3 and Glacier (long)

<p>It's best to have several layers of backup for important images, ranging from an online copy, to a nearby offline copy, to offsite copies (perhaps on DVDs), to copies in the cloud. The idea is to protect against increasingly rare but geographically-wide disasters with increasingly delayed, but reliable, retrieval. For example, it may take hours to retrieve the offsite backups, or days to download the cloud backups, but a disaster (such as a building explosion, as just occurred in New York) that would necessitate going to them is extremely rare, so the time isn't a problem.</p>

<p>I've been using S3 for several years as my backup of last resort, but recently decided to move those archives to Glacier, which is slower and potentially costlier to retrieve, at one-third the storage cost of S3. This has prompted me to rethink how I structure and upload the archives.</p>

<p>I'm concerned only with older images on which I no longer work and for which retrieval time is irrelevant, since the chances of needing to retrieve are extremely small. (As I said, I have other backups immediately accessible.)</p>

<p>To make the discussion concrete, suppose you have 10,000 images from 2005. You could just use a backup utility to copy them directly to Glacier. I haven't used any of these, but I see from searching the internet that several are available. The problem with doing it that way is that you need to ensure that all 10,000 have been copied perfectly, and you want to do that independently of the backup utility (which could have bugs), as a double-check. Amazon keeps an MD5 checksum for each image, but comparing 10,000 checksums with the original files and re-uploading the bad ones is a huge amount of work, and I know of no utility that automates the job.</p>